November 26, 2015 / OLD news posts
  • 1 of 9

    1 of 9

  • 2 of 9

    2 of 9

  • 3 of 9

    3 of 9

  • 4 of 9

    4 of 9

  • 5 of 9

    5 of 9

  • 6 of 9

    6 of 9

  • 7 of 9

    7 of 9

  • 8 of 9

    8 of 9

  • 9 of 9 –  ELLE Decoration's Editor-in-Chief Michelle Ogundehin with home owner Lord Rothschild

    9 of 9 – ELLE Decoration's Editor-in-Chief Michelle Ogundehin with home owner Lord Rothschild

Every year the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) scour the land in search of the UK’s ‘House of the Year’ (formerly known as the Manser Medal) celebrating excellence in housing design. The Flint House, designed by London based architects Skene Catling De La Pena, was crowned last night as the prestigious winner on Grand Designs: House of the Year, a special four-part Channel 4 series to highlight the UK’s current pool of architectural talent.

Along with Grand Design’s Kevin McCloud, our Editor-In-Chief Michelle Ogundehin was a co-presenter on the show. She says: ‘The Flint House deserves to win this prestigious architectural prize because it truly is a piece of remarkable architecture. The flint detailing alone is extraordinary, rising from solid, unworked dark stones at ground level to more chiselled perfected pieces, until they too give way to white chalk at the very top. Combined with the wedge profile of the building, it appears to be both rooted to the ground while also dissolving into the sky. Truly an architectural sculpture for living in!’

Described also by judges ‘as a marvel of geological evolution and construction, the house is a celebration of location, material and architectural design at its best’.

Set in the flint-layered fields of the Rothschild’s estate at Waddesdon Manor in Buckinghamshire (a true architectural gem in its own right), the building rises from the ground dark, beautifully textures, with hues of greys and slowly lightens to the top in chalky white blocks, finally disappearing into the sky.

See below the full shortlist for the 2015 RIBA House of the Year awards:
1.       Flint House, Buckinghamshire by Skene Catling De La Pena
2.       Kew House, London by Piercy&Company
3.       Levring House, London by Jamie Fobert Architects
4.       Maghera, County Down by Mcgonigle McGrath
5.       (The) Mill, Scottish Borders by WT Architecture
6.       Sussex House, West Sussex by Wilkinson King Architects
7.       Vaulted House, London by vPPR Architects